Skip to content

My new blog

March 22, 2012

Well, this is my first post on my new blog.  Given my parish responsibilities, I am not sure how often I will be able to post; however, I figured the time had come for me to stop lurking on other blogs and say something myself, even if I might be incorrect.  Others will correct me, I’m sure.  What really had me going is the controversy that is the subject of my next post.  As a canonist, I am often frustrated that people are unwilling to discuss certain issues publicly.  Sometimes public discussion clarifies issues, when it is not just a mass of ranting because many people can be involved and someone might bring up a point of which two people merely having a conversation might not have thought.  One of those issues in the controversy is ‘removing a priest from ministry,’ or placing him on ‘administrative leave,’ as it is sometimes called.  Canonists use this term quite a bit.  Few give reasoned explanations of canonical doctrine that would justify it.  It’s a conversation that needs to be had.  It’s my reason for entering the world of blogs.

Because I am new to this, I still have to figure out hyperlinks and all the other formatting headaches.  Let’s hope it won’t be a steep learming curve.

From → Uncategorized

14 Comments
  1. First, welcome to the fray.

    Second, you have an open combox. Hmmm. Don’t be afraid to reconsider that choice down the road.

    Third, you don’t use your name. Hmmm. I am not comfortable, at all, when professionals (as you clearly are, I read your post above) publicly discussing topics in their profession (as canon law clearly is, along with priesthood, which is different thing of course) don’t take public ownership of their opinions. If one’s circumstances do not allow one to sign one’s real name (and, yes, I can imagine such circumstances), that’s a pretty good sign that one should not be opining publicly in the first place. Just my opinion, and we’ll see as things progress.

    Sancte Raymunde, ora pro nobis.

    • where can I add my name? like I said, I’m not tech savvy! will look around to see how to do that! not intentional on my part.

  2. Ah ha! Problem solved. Now, about that combox (even thought it’s monitored), I’m from Missouri (really, I am) so, we’ll see.

  3. deltaechobravo permalink

    Welcome to the blogosphere Fr. MacDonald,
    I look forward to reading your posts. As a layman I have found that reading canon law can be informative, but I am aware that the legal terminology has both denotations and connotations with which I may not be familiar. I have recently begun following Dr. Peters’ blog and now follow yours. As an interested reader, I thank you.

    Pax et bonum,
    David

  4. Hey Father,

    Thanks for starting your blog. I’m a seminarian, myself, and I just wanted to say thank you being so charitable in your time as to inform us on canon law. God willing, I’ll be allowed to study this in more depth someday as well.

    All the best!

  5. I shall have to follow both you and Dr Peters if I’m to understand what is ‘happening’ selon canon law in this world of ours.
    Thank you for such a full treatment oln the ‘communion case’. I shall ahve to reead it a few times and digest.
    Keep marching.
    Charlie
    Ottawa
    CANADA

  6. Dear Father, welcome to the blogosphere! I am a civil lawyer; since I practice exclusively in the criminal courts, being instructed on the law by wildly ignorant non-lawyers is one of my daily crosses. I therefore feel your pain. I shall add you to my blogroll.

  7. Congratulations and thank you for taking this initiative with a new Canon Law blog. I’ve already bookmarked it and look forward to following it in the future!

    Father James L. Bartoloma, J.C.L.
    Diocese of Camden, NJ

  8. 76tadds permalink

    Congratulations Father Stuart MacDonald on starting your blog i will be following your blog with great interest.May God bless you and thank you for helping us to understand our faith.

  9. Welcome to the blogoshpere, Father! I’m glad that you decided to open the combox: Your exchanges with Dr. Peters are already very instructive. Let’s hope that moderating the comments will not take too much of your time.

  10. Welcome to blog land Father it’s so nice to have you here! I’ve been reading through your posts and am thoroughly enjoying them.. Thank you for starting your blog and may God bless you and your new endeavor!
    Robyn

  11. Welcome to blog land Father, it’s so nice to have you here! I have been reading through your posts thus far and am thoroughly enjoying them. Thank you for starting your blog and may God bless you and your new endeavor!
    Robyn

  12. Deacon Eugene LeBoeuf permalink

    Ad multos annos! and Deo Gratias?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. One letter will kill you « musingsofacanonist

Comments are closed.

